THEOCRACY – Self-Titled – Full Album – (Remastered)


Theocracy was the brainchild of Matt Smith, a multi-talented musician from Athens, Georgia. Smith’s 2003 self-titled debut was a power metal project featuring high quality songwriting, huge choir-like vocal melodies, catchy choruses, and symphonic keyboards. It was a grand scaled project of such quality that any young band would be proud to call it their own.

But in 2002-2003 Theocracy wasn’t a band per se. It was a one man show! Smith handled everything himself. Songwriting, lead and choir vocals, rhythm, lead, acoustic and bass guitar, keyboards, orchestration, drum programming – it was ALL Smith!

The album wasn’t perfect. It suffered in two main areas… In a genre that demands stellar production values, Theocracy was just so-so. And Smith chose to use electronic drum machine instead of real drums.

So in 2013 – a decade after the original release – Smith decided to re-record the drums and completely remaster the project. Fans were ecstatic and eager to hear the album anew.

The reviewer at summed up the 2013 Remaster nicely:

Production comes across in the brighter, crisper and all around cleaner manner. Specifically, the re-issue proves heavier with its emphasis on better-defined rhythm guitars that helps give the project an added metal-based feel. Keyboards stand out further in the backdrop as well. Second, the work of Shaw Benson on drums makes a decisive difference from how he lends greater punch and presence to the low-end and kicks up the tempo in the process. It cannot be understated the technical presence a real drummer brings to the table – listen closely and you will find fills and rolls, cymbals and kick drum not present on the original. Source

What do YOU think about Theocracy? Please leave your thoughts in the comments section below.

If you’d like to add Theocracy to your collection, MP3s, CDs, and Vinyl can be purchased directly from the band at or on this Amazon page.

Theocracy - Self Titled

“Theocracy” SONGS:

1. Prelude
2. Ichthus
3. The Serpent’s Kiss
4. Mountain
5. Theocracy
6. The Healing Hand
7. Sinner
8. New Jerusalem
9. The Victory Dance
10. Twist of Fate