THE FRONT – Self Titled – Full Album


The Front was a short-lived collaboration between and the ex-Seawind drummer Bob Wilson, prolific studio guitarist Dann Huff, and the golden-voiced Tommy Funderburk. These three joined forces in 1983-84 to create a remarkable AOR release unlike anything else on the Christian Bookstore shelves. The result was an album that, if nothing else, would go on to become the very first Christian album ever to be released on CD. Sorry Amy and Michael… The Front beat you to it.

The best review I’ve ever read about this album was written by LOW5POINT on his blog, The Greatest Christian Albums of All Time. Ranked #23 on his impressive list, LOW5POINT says:

“The Front was an album for the times as the electronic drum styling was short-lived and dated, but that does not discount the wonderful songwriting, incredible musical performances and poignant and stirring lyrics. Other artists were producing similar musical ventures, including DeGarmo and Key, but none with the pure raw energy packed into 8 songs.”

If you want to know more about The Front, I encourage you to check out LOW5POINT’s full review.

What do YOU think about The Front? Please leave your thoughts in the comments section below.

If you’d like to add The Front to your collection, VERY few copies are available through the links below.
CD: The Front CD
LP: The Front LP

The Front (Tommy Funderburk)

“The Front” SONGS:

1. It’s Hard To Take
2. Holy Night
3. All Under Him
4. King Of Glory
5. The Promise
6. Silent Night
7. Tonight
8. How Long